Uncategorized

Review – Hunted

Hunted

 

“She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.”
Meagan Spooner, Hunted

 

Hunted by Megan Spooner

Rating – 4 Stars

Publishers – Harper Teen

Pages –  352

Summary – Goodreads

Spoil Free Review

I am still in awe but also in a wary state since reading this. I loved it and I enjoyed it but for some reason I couldn’t give it a full 5 stars. This could be due to the fact that I felt like the ending was wrapped up too quickly but then again this story felt and read like a fairy tale. Therefore, since most fairy tales endings wrap up magical but fast I am not really surprised. Plus, the meaning behind the story is so powerful that it blew me away and yet I still can’t give it a full 5 stars. I liked but I just didn’t love it.  

I really loved the story and it was definitely a Beauty and the Beast retelling with a twist because it incorporates the Russian fairy tale of “Tsarevitch Ivan, the Firebird and the Gray Wolf.” Which was such amazing twist – it made the story richer. 

The writing! Oh gosh, the writing. It had a fairy tale feel to it but it wasn’t overall pretty. It made me felt magical.  

I enjoyed the characters so much. The main character, Yeva was so brave and I loved her ‘want’ for something more plus she was good at hunting (which I thought was so cool)! The Beast was also very interesting and was different from the Beast we all know. Yes, he is still a prince that is under a cruse but there is something more to him. He just wanted to find something more in his life. This book gave such a great and more in-depth back story for the Beast.

Pros:

  • A great retelling
  • Reads like a fairy tale
  • In-depth main characters (Beauty & the Beast)

Cons:

  • Ending wrapped up fast

I recommend this book if you are a fan of fairy tales and retellings. It was beautiful and the story powerful meaning is worth the read.

Author Links ⇢  Website | Twitter

Where to Buy ⇢  Amazon

My Links ⇢  Instagram | Tumblr | Twitter | Goodreads

 

2 thoughts on “Review – Hunted

  1. Ahhh, I just finished this book the other day! I agree with you – I liked it, but I didn’t love it. I thought Ms. Spooner was able to masterfully combine beauty and brevity in her writing, but Yeva wasn’t particularly memorable and the story didn’t feel too unique or suspenseful. I always have this problem with retellings – I already know how the fairytale turns out, so the plot always feels the same and predictable. I thought the ending was beautiful and suspenseful, though! I really liked that the pace picked up. It was lovely hearing your thoughts, as always ❤

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

