Uncategorized

How to Bookstagram – Theme & Photos

These are my tips and tricks on how I take my book photos and how I changed my feed to have an overall theme. This will be a bit of a long post but hopefully helpful. Check out my Instagram to see my photos/feed.

My overall style or theme for Instagram is simple, not to bright, and pretty. It took me about two weeks to come up with my own “look” for my photos. I would look at other people’s feeds and make a list of what I like about their photos. Using that list I came up with the style that I am using as of now. But do not copy anyone’s theme! Take inspiration from other people’s bookish pictures and create something of your own.

What I use to take my Photos:

  • My phone – iPhone 5c

Setting Up:

  • Setting up for your bookish photos is a important step. This step varies depending on the type of photo you want to take. You should take into account how many objects will be in the photo because you do not want to throw everything down next to a book and snap the photo. What I do is I place the book(s) and other objects that I may be using and look through my camera so I can see how the picture will look. Then if I need to change something I will. I find that this is the best way garage how your book and/or other items will look in the photo.
  • The one thing you should ALWAYS do is take photos in good lighting. I prefer sunlight/natural lighting for my photos. Take your photos near a window. Personally I love using morning light. I find it to be the best time to take any of my pictures.

Taking the Photo:

  • This is the hardest part for me but here are some tips that I use with my iPhone 5c camera:
  • I prefer to make my photos into a square. I don’t like using the normal photo so I slide my camera to square. I am sure you know what I am talking about if you have an iPhone. (When you open your camera it’s the words above the shoot button – you can change from photo to video and ect.)
  • Finding a focus! What do you want people to first see when they look at your photo? After you find your focus you want to lock in your focus and how I do this is by holding down my screen (the camera) over the area that I want to be the main focus. I know that iPhones have this feature. You will be able to tell when your focus is locked in because you will see the words “AE/AF Lock” appear on your screen.

Editing:

  • When editing your photo you want to consider editing apps. I personally don’t use apps for my editing; I only use the Instagram’s editing software. This is completely up to you.
  • Picking a filter is important especially if you want your photos to have an overall theme. If you are going to have a theme for your photos then you will always edit using the same filter.
  • I try to keep my photos about the same brightness/darkness. You can play around with the highlights, shadows, and brightness to achieve the desired look.
  • I try to make each photo the best they can be so don’t stress out if a photo is not exactly your others because each picture is different. You don’t want all of your photos to look exactly the same. That’s boring!

Changing your Overall Theme:

  • Come up with your own look/theme.
  • Decide if you want to keep the photos you already have or to start over.
  • Make sure to edit your photos mostly in the same way.
  • It will take time. Don’t rush the process.

Inspiration & Other Tips:  

  • Look for inspiration everywhere! Look around your room, explore outside, look at other people’s photos, go to bookshops, or ask for help. I sometimes ask my sister for help or ideas.
  • Take clear photos. I will take up to ten photos of the same setup just to find the one that is most clear.
  • Don’t get stress! Some days you won’t be able to take the most amazing photo and that is okay.
  • Don’t do it for the followers or the likes! Take book photos because it is fun! I wouldn’t be able to spend hours out of my week for my book photos if it wasn’t fun. So have fun, be yourself and good luck!

If you have any questions please send them here.

 

My InstagramMy TumblrMy GoodreadsAbout Page

Leave a Reply

